Southeast Missouri Athletics Women's Soccer



 Women's Soccer
Schedule/Results | Roster | News | Archives
Otahkian Soccer Team Almost Sweeps Conference Awards

Beth Guccione, Jenny Hamilton and Coach Heather Nelson all take home league's highest honors.

Senior GK Beth Guccione was named OVC Player of the Year on Thursday night at the annual awards banquet.

Women's Soccer Home

Soccer Adds Mizzou Transfer Jessica Crabtree

Soccer Joins Fight to Save Dutchtown from Flooding

Nikki Edwards Named NSCAA Scholar All-Region Team Honorable Mention

Email this to a friend

Nov. 8, 2001

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo. - The Southeast Missouri State Otahkian soccer team, in the midst of its best ever season, almost made a clean sweep of all the major end-of-the year awards by winning the OVC Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year awards and also placed six teams members on the three All-OVC teams.

Senior goalkeeper Beth Guccione won the league's highest honor, Player of the Year. Guccione is having an amazing season in goal, recording 12 shutouts on the season in 16 Otahkian games and ranking fourth in the country in goals allowed average (0.44). When the season ends, Guccione should rank second all-time in NCAA history for shutout percentage in a season. Guccione was magnificent in OVC competition, not allowing an OVC opponent to score a goal this season. Guccione was a first-team All-OVC selection in 1999. Guccione became the first non-Eastern Illinois player to pick up the award in the league's four-year history.

Defender Jenny Hamilton was named OVC Defensive Player of the Year thanks in part to leading the strong Otahkian defense that ranks third in the country in goals allowed average, one place ahead of national power North Carolina. Hamilton, a junior, was a first-team All-OVC selection in 1999 and a second-team selection in 2000. Hamilton became the first non-Tennessee Tech player to pick up the award in the league's four-year history.

Coach Heather Nelson gained her second OVC Coach of the Year award in three seasons by helping lead Southeast to a school best 15-1 record and the Otahkians first ever OVC Regular Season Championship. Nelson also picked up the award in 1999, when her first-year squad won four games and advanced deep in the OVC Tournament.

Joining Guccione and Hamilton on the All-OVC first team were freshmen Erin Slattery and Marla Gianino who lost out on the OVC Freshman of the Award to Tennessee Tech's Robyn Vince, but both gained the first-team selection. Slattery currently leads the Otahkians in goals with 10 and Gianino leads the team in points and set the Southeast single season record for assists with nine.

Senior Nichole Thiele, an All-OVC first-team selection in both 1999 and 2000, was the lone Otahkian on the second-team. Sophomore Erika Todd, an All-OVC first-team selection last season, was named to the honorable mention squad.

Southeast will begin play in the OVC Tournament tomorrow night at Houck Stadium as they host this year's tournament. The will battle number four seed Murray State at 7:00 p.m. Eastern Illinois and Tennessee Tech will battle in the day's first semifinal at 4:30 p.m. The winners will meet in the Championship game on Sunday at 2:00 p.m. with an NCAA automatic bid on the line, the first automatic bid in OVC history.

2001 All-Ohio Valley Conference Women's Soccer Team
(as selected by OVC women's soccer coaches)

OVC Player of the Year: Beth Guccione, Southeast Missouri State
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Jenny Hamilton, Southeast Missouri State
OVC Freshman of the Year: Robyn Vince, Tennessee Tech
OVC Coach of the Year: Heather Nelson, Southeast Missouri State

All-OVC First Team
Beth Guccione (Southeast Missouri State, Sr., GK)
Jenny Carter (Murray State, Jr., Def.)
Audra Frericks (Eastern Illinois, Fr, Def.)
Jenny Hamilton (Southeast Missouri, Jr., Def.)
Rebecca Traen (Eastern Illinois, So., Def.)
Julie Tryon (Tennessee Tech, Sr., Def.)
Marla Gianino (Southeast Missouri, Fr., MF)
Lindsey Gustafson (Murray State, So., MF)
Robyn Vince (Tennessee Tech, Fr., MF)
Beth Liesen (Eastern Illinois, So., F)
Erin Slattery (Southeast Missouri, Fr., F)

All-OVC Second Team
Caryn Scheufler (UT-Martin, Jr., GK)
Brittney Cook (Morehead State, Fr., Def.)
Christi Lopez (Tennessee Tech, Fr., Def.)
Moghan McMullen (UT-Martin, Jr., Def.)
Devon Bissell (Eastern Illinois, Sr., MF)
Cara LeMaster (Eastern Illinois, Jr., MF)
Emily Schaller (Murray State, Fr., F)
Kristen Stegeman (Tennessee Tech, So., MF)
Angela Freund (Tennessee Tech, Sr., F)
Theresa Reedy (Murray State, Fr., F)
Nichole Thiele (Southeast Missouri, Sr., F)

All-OVC Honorable Mention
Karen Fitzharris (Murray State, So., GK)
Brandy Morris (Morehead State, Sr., Def.)
Amanda Cadell (UT-Martin, Jr., MF)
Jamie Roche (Murray State, Fr., MF)
Sherrie Weeks (UT-Martin, Jr., MF)
Tania Desmarais (Tennessee Tech, Fr., F)
Sara Johnson (Eastern Illinois, Fr., F)
Christina Moore (Morehead State, So., F)
Erika Todd (Southeast Missouri, So., F)


Redhawks Athletics Women's Soccer
  Printer-friendly format   Email this article